SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   Writers: Bruce Boston (1943 - , United States)  
  About the author  

Born in Chicago of Catholic and Jewish heritage, Bruce Boston grew up in suburban Los Angeles in an era of nuclear testing, drop drills, rock and roll, and the space race. He attended the University of California, Berkeley, at the height of the turbulent 1960s, where he was active in political protest and psychedelic exploration. His poems began appearing in print when he was an undergraduate, and his fiction soon followed.

Bruce Boston's fiction has received a Pushcart Prize and the Best of Soft SF Award. His poetry has won a record seven Rhysling Awards and three Asimov's Readers' Choice Awards. In 1999 the Science Fiction Poetry Association honored him with the first Grand Master Award in its then-22-year history.

Boston's occupations have included college professor, computer programmer, book designer, movie projectionist, book buyer, furniture mover, technical writer, retail clerk, warehouseman, and gardener. He lives in Ocala, Florida, City of Trees, with his wife, writer-artist, Marge Ballif Simon.

Biography provided by the author, March 2002

Picture of Bruce Boston  
 Get pricing and availability through our links to online stores, or click on a title to get more information and buying options.

  1976.  Jackbird: Tales of Illusion & Identity   (Amazon - Alibris)
1982.  She Comes when You're Leaving & Other Stories   (Amazon - Alibris)
1984.  All the Clocks Are Melting   (Amazon - Alibris)
1985.  Alchemical Texts   (Amazon - Alibris)
1987.  Nuclear Futures   (Amazon - Alibris)

1988.  Musings   (Amazon - Alibris)
1988.  Skin Trades   (Amazon - Alibris)
1988.  Time   (Amazon - Alibris)
1989.  Nightmare Collector, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
1990.  After Magic   (Amazon - Alibris)

1990.  Faces of the Beast   (Amazon - Alibris)
1990.  Hypertales & Metafiction   (Amazon - Alibris)
1990.  Short Circuits   (Amazon - Alibris)
1991.  Houses   (Amazon - Alibris)
1993.  Accursed Wives   (Amazon - Alibris)

1993.  Night Eyes   (Amazon - Alibris)
1993.  Specula   (Amazon - Alibris)
1995.  Sensuous Debris   (Amazon - Alibris)
1996.  Conditions of Sentient Life   (Amazon - Alibris)
1998.  Cold Tomorrows   (Amazon - Alibris)

1998.  Confessions of a Body Thief   (Amazon - Alibris)
1998.  Dark Tales & Light   (Amazon - Alibris)
2000.  Complete Accursed Wives, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
2001.  Pavane for a Cyber-Princess   (Amazon - Alibris)
2001.  White Space   (Amazon - Alibris)
2002.  Masque of Dreams   (Amazon - Alibris)
Buy After Magic
After Magic
Buy Dark Tales & Light
Dark Tales & Light
  Internet links  
  • Official website
  • (Wayback Machine - Google cache) 
  • Bruce Boston Bibliography
  • (Wayback Machine - Google cache)

    If you know a good site about this author, please let us know, we'll consider adding it here.

    If a link doesn't work, please tell us so. Meanwhile try our links to Google or the Wayback Machine, they might have kept archived copies.

    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved