SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   Writers: Hugh Cook (1956 - , England)  
  About the author  

Hugh Cook was born in Essex, England, in 1956, but was educated in New Zealand. Over the course of twenty years or so he completed a BA degree at the University of uckland with a double major in English (literature and some linguistics) and Japanese (language and some literature and a little linguistics).

He was a professional writer from about 1986 through 1992 but now lives in Japan where he teaches English and does curriculum development work (writing courses on how to write e-mail, for example). He has also lately begun to blog on his website.

Someone growing up in New Zealand gets a sightly odd cultural perspective. Of course, New Zealand is the local norm, but it's impossible not to be aware of competing norms in Britain and the United States, the main sources of the novels, movies and TV programs consumed in New Zealand.

This writer's cultural perspectives have been further complicated by his traveling, which have taken him to countries as diverse as France and Nepal, the United States and Vietnam. He has accepted Islamic hospitality in Morocco, has been invited into a Hindu home in India, has participated in a festival in a village in the Solomon Islands, and has drunk sacramental sake at a Shinto shrine in Japan on New Year's Day.

Biography provided by the author, December 2002.

Picture of Hugh Cook  
 Get pricing and availability through our links to online stores, or click on a title to get more information and buying options.

  1986.  Wizards and the Warriors, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
1987.  Shift, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
1987.  Wizard War   (Amazon - Alibris)
1987.  Women and the Warlords, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
1987.  Wordsmiths and the Warguild, THe   (Amazon - Alibris)

1988.  Hero's Return, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
1988.  Questing Hero, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
1988.  Walrus and the Warwolf, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
1989.  Oracle, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
1989.  Wicked and the Witless, The   (Amazon - Alibris)

1990.  Wazir and the Witch, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
1990.  Wishstone and the Wonderworkers, tHe   (Amazon - Alibris)
1991.  Lords of the Sword, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
1991.  Werewolf and the Wormlord, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
1992.  Witchlord and the Weaponmaster, The   (Amazon - Alibris)

1992.  Worshippers and the Way, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
2005.  To Find And Wake the Dreamer   (Amazon - Alibris)
Buy Werewolf and the Wormlord, The
Werewolf and the Wormlord, The
  • Chronicles of an Age of Darkness
  • Wizard War Chronicles
      Recurring themes  

  • Magic - Magicians - Sorcerers - Witches - Wizards (8 books)
  • Kings, Queens & Princes - Emperors - Kingdoms & Empires (7 books)
  • Humor - Comedy - Satire (3 books)
  • Dragons (3 books)
  • Knights - Warriors - Samourais - Gladiators (3 books)
      Internet links  
  • Official website
  • (Wayback Machine - Google cache) 

    If you know a good site about this author, please let us know, we'll consider adding it here.

    If a link doesn't work, please tell us so. Meanwhile try our links to Google or the Wayback Machine, they might have kept archived copies.

    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved