SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   Writers: Jack McDevitt (1935 - , United States)  
  About the author  

Jack McDevitt is a Philadelphia native. He is a graduate of LaSalle and holds a master's degree in literature from Wesleyan University.

He has been a naval officer, an English teacher, a motivational trainer, and a customs officer. During his teaching years, McDevitt directed high school,theater groups, appearing (like Hitchcock) in cameos. He was a native in South Pacific, a Nazi bodyguard in The Sound of Music, but his proudest moment came playing the corpse in Arsenic and Old Lace.

McDevitt wrote his first science fiction story in 1980 at the suggestion of his wife Maureen, as an antidote to the routine of training customs inspectors. The story, titled "The Emerson Effect," sold to The Twilight Zone Magazine and was published in the December 1981 issue.

He is married to the former Maureen McAdams of Philadelphia. McDevitt and his family live in Brunswick, Georgia.

Biography provided by the author, June 2002.

Picture of Jack McDevitt  
 Get pricing and availability through our links to online stores, or click on a title to get more information and buying options.

  1986.  Hercules Text, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
1989.  Talent for War, A   (Amazon - Alibris)
1995.  Engines of God, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
1996.  Ancient Shores   (Amazon - Alibris)
1996.  Standard Candles   (Amazon - Alibris)

1997.  Eternity Road   (Amazon - Alibris)
1998.  Moonfall   (Amazon - Alibris)
2000.  Hello Out There   (Amazon - Alibris)
2000.  Infinity Beach   (Amazon - Alibris)
2001.  Deepsix   (Amazon - Alibris)

2002.  Chindi   (Amazon - Alibris)
2003.  Omega   (Amazon - Alibris)
2004.  Polaris   (Amazon - Alibris)
2005.  Seeker   (Amazon - Alibris)
2006.  Odyssey   (Amazon - Alibris)

2006.  Outbound   (Amazon - Alibris)
2007.  Cauldron   (Amazon - Alibris)
2008.  Devil's Eye, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
2009.  Time Travelers Never Die   (Amazon - Alibris)
2010.  Echo   (Amazon - Alibris)
2011.  Firebird   (Amazon - Alibris)
Buy Infinity Beach
Infinity Beach
Buy Deepsix
  • Ace Science Fiction Special
  • Alex Benedict
  • Engines of God
      Recurring themes  

  • Aliens - Extra-terrestrials (8 books)
  • Gone Missing - Abductions - Kidnapping - Hostages (4 books)
  • Space Ships - Spacecraft (3 books)
  • Terraforming (3 books)
  • Alien Machines - Alien Artifacts (3 books)
      Internet links  
  • Official website
  • (Wayback Machine - Google cache) 

    If you know a good site about this author, please let us know, we'll consider adding it here.

    If a link doesn't work, please tell us so. Meanwhile try our links to Google or the Wayback Machine, they might have kept archived copies.

    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved