SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   Writers: Fay Sampson (1935 - , England)  
  About the author  

Fay Sampson was born in Plymouth, UK, in 1935, the daughter of a Royal Marine bandsman. She grew up in Lympstone, a farming and fishing village on the Exe. She graduated in mathematics at the University College of the South-West, now Exeter University. She taught in high schools in Yorkshire and Nottinghamshire, and married Jack Priestley. They went to a teacher training college in Northern Rhodesia/Zambia, where their two children were born. After their return to Exeter, Fay began writing, as well as teaching part-time.

In 1987 she left teaching to write full-time and began to write novels for adults as well, often based on myths and legends. She has also published four books on church history, using the research for her novels.

She lives with her husband in a Tudor cottage in mid-Devon. Her hobbies are family history, walking, and activities at her Methodist church.

Biography provided by the author, September 2003.

Picture of Fay Sampson  
 Get pricing and availability through our links to online stores, or click on a title to get more information and buying options.

  1981.  Chains of Sleep, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
1986.  Finnglas and the Stones of Choosing   (Amazon - Alibris)
1988.  Shape Shifter - The Naming of Pangur Ban   (Amazon - Alibris)
1989.  Finnglas of the Horses   (Amazon - Alibris)
1989.  Serpent of Senargad, The   (Amazon - Alibris)

1989.  White Cat, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
1989.  White Nun's Telling   (Amazon - Alibris)
1989.  Wise Woman's Telling   (Amazon - Alibris)
1990.  Black Smith's Telling   (Amazon - Alibris)
1990.  White Horse Is Running, The   (Amazon - Alibris)

1991.  Taliesin's Telling   (Amazon - Alibris)
1992.  Daughter of Tintagel   (Amazon - Alibris)
1992.  Herself   (Amazon - Alibris)
1992.  Herself   (Amazon - Alibris)
1993.  Star Dancer   (Amazon - Alibris)

2003.  Them   (Amazon - Alibris)
2004.  Island Pilgrimage, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
2005.  Sorcerer's Trap, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
2007.  Sorcerer's Daughter, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
Buy Star Dancer
Star Dancer
  • Daughter of Tintagel / Morgan Le Fay
  • Pangur Ban Celtic Fantasies
      Recurring themes  

  • Magic - Magicians - Sorcerers - Witches - Wizards (16 books)
  • Kings, Queens & Princes - Emperors - Kingdoms & Empires (14 books)
  • Religion - Theology - Gods & Deities - Faith - Priests & Clerics (13 books)
  • Shapeshifters - Changelings - Transformation (11 books)
  • Mythology - Myths - Legends - Fairy Tales - Folklore (10 books)
      Influences & favorites  

  • Alan Garner
  • C. S. Lewis
  • George MacDonald

  • Owl Service, The
  • Princess and Curdie, The
  • Princess and the Goblin, The
  • Gormenghast
  • Hainish universe (1) - Earthsea
  • Llandor
      Internet links  
  • Official website
  • (Wayback Machine - Google cache) 

    If you know a good site about this author, please let us know, we'll consider adding it here.

    If a link doesn't work, please tell us so. Meanwhile try our links to Google or the Wayback Machine, they might have kept archived copies.

    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved